Forget Me Not – Chapter 11

“You take my place as I took yours.” Jess has a secret, a part of her life she tried to forget. Now a lost little girl threatens everything she holds dear.

A Primeval Fanfiction, rated T.

Jess spent her day sat beside Becker in the medical bay. She held his hand, just waiting, waiting for him to wake up. Praying for him to come back to her.

She sat and remembered all of those times that she’d gone to church. All the times she’d prayed for those who didn’t need her. All of the times she’d wished her parents would stop arguing, all the times that she had asked God to show her mother that her father knew what he was doing when it came to looking after them. Her mind dropped back to the times when she would cut class and drop into the church just to talk to Father Richards; she missed being able to confide in the nice old man, the only one who wouldn’t judge, and who would encourage her, the one who would help with her homework when her parents were too busy with the solicitors.

Matt and Danny had arrived at the prison, they found Emily tied up next to a knocked out creature. Izzie was sitting with her, being told off for following her, but Emily seemed too happy to be strict. They looked so much like mother and daughter it was scary. Danny ran through the anomaly which Emily pointed to; telling Matt about Helen Cutter and the possible connection to Philip Burton.

It took a moment for Matt to realise that it was only just Izzie, another Emily in this time wouldn’t be good; she was a handful as it was. But she was his handful Matt had no idea where the thought had come from but he decided he liked it.

The job of letting Emily know that she could go home was left upon him. She looked to be dressed for it, but her mind was off in a different place. “You have your job to do. I know I can’t stop you from doing that…”

“But?”

“If you want me to… I’ll stay. I will stand by your side every step of the way. I should go. And I know I should. But I don’t want to. There’s so much more here, people who really care for me.”

The anomaly started to fade, Emily turned to it. She pulled the wedding band from her finger and threw it into the anomaly; it was then that it closed properly.

“I may have married him, but I never loved him. I married to help my father and that was all. He knew it too. He had his mistresses and a son already. I was just the untouched trophy on the shelf.” She looked at Matt, “don’t make me regret staying. I’ll help you, just let me in.”

Matt smiled, pulling Emily into his embrace. “I’ll tell you everything. Just give me a little bit of time. Let us sort everything out, and have you living somewhere other than the ARC, and I’ll tell you it all.” He promised, no crossed fingers, no half-truths. This time Matt felt he was right, not Gideon; maybe Emily would distract him, but she’d help him too. There was no point being the hero, if you were an unhappy lonely one. At the end of every story, the hero gets the girl, right?

Upon getting back to the ARC, Matt had a soldier carry Izzie, while he carried the sleeping Emily. The medics were asked to check over both of them; they couldn’t get near Izzie before she woke up and ran to Jess’ side. Emily woke up when Matt shook her gently; she tried to argue that she was just fine, but was convinced by Matt when he said it was for his peace of mind.

The sun was rising when Jess awoke. She’d fallen asleep on the edge of the bed. Looking up she noticed that someone had placed Izzie on the other bed in the room. Izzie was waking up too. She looked up and saw her Aunty Jess was awake. Sitting up she patted the side of the bed.

Jess gave Becker’s hand a squeeze, before walking over to sit with Izzie. She pulled Izzie into a cuddle. “It’s going to be alright.”

“Is he coming back?” Izzie asked, looking towards Becker.

Jess didn’t know how to answer. “I hope so.” She looked thoughtful.

“Why?” Izzie seemed to be full of questions.

“Because I love him,” Jess answered simply. “I don’t know what I’d do if he wasn’t around to smile, or bring in chocolate, nothing with orange though. He’s like the main life force of the team; he keeps everybody together, and keeps us safe. There’ll never be another Hilary Becker.”

Becker could hear every word that Jess said. He should have opened his eyes and let them know he was waking up, but he wanted to know what his girl was thinking. Jess was still telling Izzie all of the reasons why he should wake up, it was so sweet that she thought all of that of him. “I love you too, Jess.” He whispered, before he could stop himself.

He knew Jess had heard him. She stopped midsentence. He could feel her coming closer, her touch lighting up the nerves under his skin. He opened his eyes to be looking back into hers.

“Izzie, go and get the medic.”

*

Next Chapter

Leave a Reply

